Rabid Bat Theatricals

Theatre and hamburgers.

About THe Show

In our third Summer of producing fun, physical, high-accessibility plays in Chicago, Rabid Bat Theatricals is excited to present our first original work, The Princess, the Minstrel, and the Rabid Bat, in a touring production throughout the community gathering places of Chicago’s public parks.  This pop-up production will set up shop in the city’s green spaces, and combine song, sword fights, mystery, and adventure to weave an enchanting hour of theatre that can be shared free of charge by anyone who might wander up.



Previous weeks:

Week 1 - "The 606"

We're incredibly excited to partner with Chicago's newest public park, the 606, for our opening weekend.  Over three days, we'll be in three different green spaces adjacent to the elevated Bloomingdale Trail. For maps and directions, click the links below- there will also be signs on the 606 itself telling you where to find us! Bring food, bring a bike, come spend some time with us and on the trail!

Thu, Aug 20 : Walsh Park, 7pm

Fri, Aug 21 : Churchill Park, 7pm

Sat, Aug 22 : Park 567, 7pm

Maps to all three parks

Week 2 - "Grassy Spaces"

Week two brings us to two beautiful large green spaces. On wednesday, we'll be in a shady glen just south of the Foster Turf Fields, and East of Margate Park fieldhouse. Then, for the weekend, we have the good fortune of participating in Indian Boundary Park's "Art Happenings" series. Come visit us in two of Chicago's more peaceful and lush enclaves!

Wed, Aug 26 : South of the Foster Turf Fields, 7:30pm

Friday, Aug 28: South of the Foster Turf Fields, 7pm

Saturday, Aug 29 (RAINED OUT): Indian Boundary Park, 7pm

WEEK 3 - "A Roving BanD"

Week three finds us continuing to jump between some of Chicago's most interesting grassy enclaves. Starting at Berger Park in Edgewater, this week we embrace the nomadic lifestyle of traveling performers. If you have questions about where we're likely to be, contact us!

Wed, Sept. 2 : Berger Park, 7:30pm

Fri, Sept. 4 : Kathy Osterman Beach House, 7pm

Sat, Sept. 5 : Indian Boundary Park, 4pm and 7pm

WEEK 4 - "WHICH WAY ARE WE TALKING ABOUT?"

Wed, Sept 9: Nichols Park, 7:30pm

Thu, Sept. 10: Stout Park, 7:30pm (RAINED OUT)

Fri, Sept. 11: Welles Park, 7pm (Closing Night)